Academics » Our Faculty

Our Faculty

St. Josaphat School we strive to build a rich learning community that enlightens our students’ spiritual development, empowers students to take on new challenges, and enables students to excel in their endeavors.

Each classroom is led by a full-time teacher and teacher’s aide. Students in Grades 5 – 8 study in a departmentalized environment, learning from teachers who specialize in specific subject areas.

Outside of core classroom instruction, our faculty includes teachers in the following areas:
  • Music
  • Art
  • Spanish and French
  • Technology
  • Physical Education
  • Library
The faculty at St. Josaphat School includes school psychologists, a social worker, and reading specialists. These faculty members work with classroom teachers, students, and parents to promote the success of all our learners.

The St. Josaphat School staff, comprised of 40 professionals, is led by our Principal Nel Mullens, Assistant Principal, Jen Kowieski and our Pastor, Father Francis Bitterman.

Continuing professional development includes training St. Josaphat’s staff in differentiated instruction. Teachers design lessons based on students' learning styles and recognize that we all learn in different ways.

More than half of our staff hold a master’s degree or are currently completing a master’s degree. St. Josaphat School teachers and staff have earned Bachelor and Master's degrees from the following universities:
  • Bowling Green State University
  • Butler University
  • Denison University
  • DePaul University
  • Eastern Illinois University
  • Elon University
  • Indiana University
  • John Carroll University
  • Lawrence University
  • Loyola University
  • Marquette University
  • Michigan State University
  • National Louis University
  • Purdue University
  • Roosevelt University
  • St. Louis University
  • St. Norbert College
  • University of Dayton
  • University of Notre Dame